• February 14, 2014
Our Reviews

Holiday in Cornwall

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted August 2017
  • Date of Stay July 2017

This is a lovely property in a beautiful location. Everything you need is in walking distance; shops, supermarket, Chinese, pubs and restaurants. The lovely owners Alison and Mark made us feel really welcome. Porthleven is a beautiful fishing port. We would definitely stay here again.

An Absolute Gem

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review submitted May 2017
  • Date of Stay April 2017

I stayed in the cottage for a week with my husband and 3 children, aged 2, 8 and 9 and it suited us perfectly. The cottage has so many plus points. The owners are lovely, they had fresh flowers in the lounge and had put a camp bed in the main bedroom in case our youngest child wanted to sleep in with us. We got stuck in traffic and they even unloaded our food shop and put it in the fridge! The cottage itself is more spaciuos than it looks in the photos. The decor is slightly dated, but steeped with character and immaculately clean. The location is great, only a couple of minutes walk from the harbour. We had the most fabulous week and have already booked again for October. I could not recommend it more!

Great Apartment

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review submitted: October 2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016

The Gables is exactly how it looks in the pictures. It is not upmarket but it is extremely comfortable, warm and clean – everything you could want for a visit in October. Great location being only a short walk from the restaurants and shops by the harbour. Private parking is an added bonus as are the owners who live below and who were extremely accommodating hosts. Dogs are apparently allowed in the apartment but there was no trace of any hairs or smell – we only knew as one of the notices mentioned it. So great little apartment with great hosts in a great location.

Perfect! Just what we wanted!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review submitted: 12-August-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
We throughly enjoyed our stay. Perfect location, friendly hosts, great value for money. Will definitely go back.

Holiday July 2014

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-July-2014
  • Date of Stay: July 2014
We are already looking forward to our next visit.
Porthleven is a lovely place and ideally situated to explore the Lizard. The property was very comfortable with everything we needed along with a great position being so close to the harbour and shops and yet tucked away to be very quiet also.Would definitely return here and would recommend to our friends and family.

Cannot keep us away

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013

 

Just returned from our fourth visit to The Gables – we are sure it will not be our last.It doesn’t take long to feel at home, and the great thing is Porthleven has plenty on the doorstep for an enjoyable stay.
Every time we see something different, but the beautiful beach and sea are all of five minutes walk away.No shortage of pubs, restaurants and other food outlets mean a no hassle holiday – great when you can just forget the car if you fancy a drink or a meal.We found several new coves/beaches this time, but The Lizard, Sennen Cove etc are lovely any time. Flambards is quite interesting to visit on a wet day as the exhibits are indoors.

Second Year Running

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2010

We took a holiday at The Gables in Sept 2009 and again in Sept 2010 so we decided it was time to write a review and recomend this great appartment to others. The flat itself is very clean and welcoming and is a lovely “home” to return to after a day out discovering this fabulous area. You probably wont notice the owner Alison because she quite rightly lets you get on with your holiday without intrusion but if there is anything you need or want to ask she is on hand to help, just as we like it.Porthleven itself is a wonderful place with beaches, small shops, restaurants, 3 great pubs and a lovely harbour. There are also supermarkets and quality take aways all very close indeed to The Gables.Last year we came as a couple with a rather large poodle called Dalby and enjoyed the holiday so much that this year we were joined by our 20 year old son and his fiance, there was plenty of room for all in the appartment and thy fell in love with Porthleven just as we had the previous year.If you are looking for a great base to take in the delights of Cornwall and like the idea of a well equiped, well positioned and friendly appartment set in a super harbour town…then I think you have just found it.

Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Our lovely holiday in Porthleven

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay:Jun 2013
Convenient to everything & everywhere, clean tidy, spacious & very well equipped. Excellent customer service, very friendly & helpful. Would recommend this property to any of our friends. A good range of places to see and eat all within walking distance. Very useful having off road parking. We will definitely return to this holiday apartment. Thanks for a great holiday.Tom & Jacquie Murphy. West Midlands.

Friendly welcome

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012

A very comfortable,clean and warm apartment, with the added bonus of off street parking.It was also nice to have an outdoor sitting area where we could unwind aftera days walking. Would stay here again when visiting Porthleven.